UMKC Named Member of American Council on Education Internationalization Laboratory Class


The University of Missouri-Kansas City is one of 18 colleges and universities participating in the American Council on Education’s 17th Internationalization Laboratory cohort.

Over the next 20 months, UMKC and the other participating schools will form leadership teams to work on strategic planning and student outcomes, attend Laboratory meetings in Washington, D.C., participate in site visits and peer reviews and engage in monthly communication with ACE staff and a team of advisors.

“This is a tremendous, unmatched opportunity and honor for UMKC to have been selected by ACE to participate in this world-renowned program,” said Kevin Truman, who has served as the UMKC vice provost for international affairs in addition to his role as dean of the School of Computing and Engineering.

“Our work in the Lab will allow us to benchmark ourselves using best practices, and to develop and implement a strong plan to solidify our commitment to internationalization and globalization at UMKC,” said Joy Stevenson, director of the Office of International Affairs at UMKC.

Truman and Stevenson will serve as co-chairs of the internationalization task force that will lead and coordinate the university’s work as part of the ACE Internationalization Lab. As a first step in transitioning to a new organization model for internationalization and globalization, UMKC will eliminate the title of vice provost for international affairs, and elevate Stevenson’s role and responsibilities from director to a re-defined position and title as UMKC senior internationalization officer. After the work of the Lab is completed, Truman will take on a leadership role as founding chair of a newly created internationalization and globalization advisory board.

The next step for UMKC will be to invite faculty, staff, administrators and community members to participate in a number of board subcommittees that will guide the work. Subcommittees include:

  • Administrative Commitment, Structure, Staffing and Funding
  • Curriculum, Co-curriculum and Learning Outcomes
  • Faculty Policies and Practices
  • Student Mobility – Incoming
  • Student Mobility – Outgoing
  • Partnerships and Agreements

Since 2002, more than 150 institutions have participated in the program. The 17th cohort is the largest to date. The other institutions are:

  • Bethany College (West Virginia)
  • California State University, San Bernardino
  • Loyola Marymount University (California)
  • Mercer University (Georgia)
  • Purdue University Northwest
  • Rhodes College (Tennessee)
  • Sinclair College (Ohio)
  • Southern Illinois University
  • SUNY – The College of Brockport
  • Universidade Federal de Goias (Brazil)
  • Universidade Estadual de Maringa (Brazil)
  • Universidade Federal do Para (Brazil)
  • University of California San Diego
  • University of Delaware
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • University of North Georgia
  • York College of Pennsylvania

“This is a wonderful opportunity for UMKC and the other institutions to share lessons and respond to challenges as they undergo a cultural transformation over the coming months,” said Chancellor Mauli Agrawal.

Leave A Reply