School of Law to Honor Six Outstanding Alumni

Honors to be bestowed at annual Big Event gala Feb. 25

Six outstanding alumni of the School of Law at the University of Missouri-Kansas City will be recognized for their professional achievements, dedication to the law school and the legal profession at the school’s annual Big Event gala Feb. 25.

The Decade Award will be presented to Kelly A. McCambridge, class of 2008. The award cites her as “an accomplished young trial attorney and a lawyer who is focused on helping women fight for justice. Kelly’s peers have recognized her for her success, honesty and advocacy.”

The Pat Kelly Service Award will be presented to Scott H. Aripoli, class of 2007. The award recognizes his “service to the Law Foundation and Law Alumni Association (beginning) when he was a law student serving as SBA President. He has had an active role on the Board for the UMKC Law Alumni Association and Law Foundation for many years.”

The Pro Bono/Public Service Award will be presented to Sherri L. Wattenbarger, class of 1993. She is a trial attorney with the Office of the U.S. Trustee in Kansas City, Missouri. She was a recipient of the Missouri Lawyer’s Weekly Women’s Justice Award based on her extensive record of public service, and is a former law clerk to the Hon. Pasco M. Bowman II of the 8th Circuit Court of Appeals.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Theresa L.F. Levings, class of 1979.  The award states that she “has devoted her 36 years as a lawyer to her clients, her profession on a local, statewide and national level, and access to justice. As a past president of the Missouri Bar, a past chair of The Missouri Bar Young Lawyers’ Counsel, and a state co-chair of the American Bar Foundation, Theresa has been a leader of the Bar throughout her career.”

The Philanthropy Award will be presented to Ralph G. Wrobley, a prominent member of the Kansas City legal community for more than 50 years. To help ensure the future quality of legal education, he made a $2 million estate commitment to establish the Ralph and Madeline Wrobley Distinguished Chair in Law and Entrepreneurship at the UMKC School of Law. The gift recognizes the leadership and innovation provided by the faculty who are educating future lawyers to help grow businesses and entrepreneurial activity in the region.

The President’s Award, presented jointly by the Presidents of the Law Foundation and the Alumni Association, will be presented to Dana Tippin Cutler, class of 1989. She is the first African American woman to serve as President of the Missouri Bar Board of Governors. She is a partner in her family’s law firm, James W. Tippin & Associates. Dana has been a leader in committees and activities of The Missouri Bar, the ABA, and local organizations.

The Big Event: Masquerade Party at the Hilton President Hotel is scheduled for February 25 at the hotel, 1329 Baltimore St., Kansas City. “Phantom of the Opera”-inspired cocktail attire is encouraged. Guests can pick up masks before the start of the event. Guests must register by Feb 17. For more information and to purchase tickets, go to


  • Recent UMKC News

    $20 Million Scholarship Article in The Kansas City Star

    KC Scholars partnership also in U.S. News and World Report … Read more

    Geosciences Professor’s Research Cited in New York Times

    Fengpeng Sun co-authored study on California wildfire seasons The 2015 … Read more

    Bloch Faculty Interviewed on NBC Nightly News

    Brent Never teaches about Kansas City’s racial dividing line Never … Read more