Women’s Soccer rakes in WAC awards

The Western Athletic Conference (WAC) announced its season award winners after the regular season ended. The Roos received seven awards, with three players winning multiple awards. The awards came just as the Roos left for the WAC tournament.

Head coach Chris Cissell won Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year in a row. He led the team to back-to-back regular season titles and holds an 87-60-18 record as head coach of the Roos.

The Roo’s swept the individual awards.

Senior midfielder Reighan Childers was named Offensive Player of the Year, after scoring six goals and having seven assists on the year.

Reighan wasn’t the only Childers to win an award. Her freshman sister, Rylan, was named Freshman of the Year. Rylan scored 10 goals, had 14 assists, and received 34 points on the season. She ended the season leading the entire NCAA in total assists.

Junior Abby Small won Defensive Player of the Year for the second year in a row. She only allowed three goals in conference play and led the Roo’s defense throughout the season.

The Roos also had six players make all conference teams at the close of the season.

Kelsey Mothershead, Lexie Howard, Reighan Childers, Abby Small and Rylan Childers were all placed on the All WAC first team while Halle Hamilton received second team honors.

Although the team ultimately faltered in the WAC tournament, Coach Cissell talked about how much this group has meant to the program in a press release after the game.

“I would like to thank the seniors for everything that they have meant to this program on and off the field over the past four years. Our senior class will be extremely missed by all of us.”



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *