Monday, October 18, 2021
Powered byspot_img

One year to go: An update on the Computing and Engineering building

The Robert W. Plaster Free Enterprise and Research Center is set to open in Fall 2020 and will house parts of the UMKC School of Computing and Engineering.

The project costs an estimated $32 million. 

The 57,800-square-foot building will connect with Flarsheim Hall and be part of a chain that connects Haag, Royall and Manheim Halls and Rockhill Parking Garage. 

The new addition will provide a combination of essential teaching and research laboratories, maker spaces and collaboration spaces supporting the School of Computing and Engineering’s five degree programs. The building’s many features will enhance the department’s more than 50 research areas.

The multi-story, state-of-the-art building “will serve as an iconic campus gateway to the heart of UMKC’s Volker campus,” said Chad Bristow, interim director of planning, design and construction at UMKC.

The new facility will also include a five-story elevator core to help serve all levels of Flarsheim Hall.

As of July 2019, several aspects of construction have seen major progress, including sidewalk replacements and improvements on the first three levels of the building.

Must Read

Related Articles


  1. Hey,I am really excited for the opening of this building because i’ll have my son to get enrolled in this somputing and engineering place.Will there be proper labs as well?by the way this is an amazing news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here