We are #RooReady for fall semester classes. Learn more about the UMKC response to the global COVID-19 pandemic and get the latest updates and safety information from the CDC.

2020 Assessment Award Recipients


The University Assessment Committee is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 Awards for Achievement in Assessment of Student Learning. These annual awards recognize individuals and programs with assessment practices that promote student achievement in the classroom and in academic programs. Nominations are open to all UMKC undergraduate, graduate and professional faculty, programs and classes.

• The Bachelor of Arts in Music Therapy was recognized for the program’s ongoing enhancement of assessment protocols and the use of assessment findings to inform curricular improvements designed to support students’ learning achievement. Assessment in the program is led by Amy Robertson, Ph.D., director of Music Therapy/assistant professor of Music Therapy; and Dawn Iwamasa, Ph.D., assistant professor of Music Therapy.

• Kim Langrehr, Ph.D., associate professor, School of Education, was recognized for her ongoing leadership in the continuous improvement of assessment strategies, collaborative work with program faculty, submission of exemplary annual assessment reports and commitment to student success in the counseling psychology doctoral program.

Congratulations and thanks to these individuals and their programs for the impressive contributions to broadening and deepening engagement in assessment to support student success. We look forward to providing opportunities for them to share their impressive work with colleagues across campus.

Leave A Reply