EyeVerify Winner of 2013 Silicon Prairie Awards


UMKC’s EyeVerify, a Kansas City startup developing biometric identification devices for mobile phones, was recently selected as a winner of two 2013 Silicon Prairie Awards.  Out of the hundreds of nominees, only 12 received awards at the Hoyt Sherman Place in Des Moines, IA. EyeVerify received the Startup of the Year award, and Riddhiman Das, software developer for EyeVerify, received the Technologist of the Year award.

EyeVerify was also nominated for the Innovation of the Year, and Toby Rush, CEO of EyeVerify, was nominated for the Executive of the Year.

EyeVerify is the exclusive provider of EyePrint Verification, a highly accurate biometric identification system for mobile devices. Eyeprint Verification delivers a password-free mobile experience and secure authentication at a glance. This patented solution uses existing cameras on smartphones to scan and pattern-match the blood vessels in the whites of the eye, which are unique to each individual.

The technology was developed by Dr. Reza Derakhshani, associate professor of computer science and electrical engineering at the University of Missouri—Kansas City’s School of Computing and Engineering, along with Arun Ross at West Virginia University. It is currently being commercialized by EyeVerify through an exclusive licensing agreement with UMKC, where Dr. Derakhshani serves as the Chief Science Officer.

For more information, see the UMatters Article, “EyeVerify Named a 2013 Silicon Prairie Award Winner.

2 thoughts on “EyeVerify Winner of 2013 Silicon Prairie Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *