Timothy Hines and Sean Rivers 2012-2013 Student LEAP Award Recipients

Tim Hines accepts the LEAP AwardCongratulations to Timothy (Tim) Hines and Sean Rivers! They are UMKC SCE’s 2012-2013 Student Leadership Excellence Achievement Program (LEAP) Award winners. Each year, the student LEAP award is earned by the two Missouri Society of Professional Engineers (MSPE) student chapter members that write the best 300 – 1,000 word essays on engineering ethics. This year the question addressed in the student essays was based on this scenario “Is it unethical to develop an evening part-time job unrelated to your full-time engineering position, and why, or how do you resolve this professional obligation issue?”
Sean Rivers accepts his LEAP AwardTim & Sean were honored at the March 21, 2013 dinner/presentation that our UMKC MSPE student chapter hosted for the MSPE WC. Their names will be added to the LEAP Award Recipient plaque housed in Flarsheim Hall. Included with each award is a $50.00 gift certificate. The annual LEAP Award was established by the MSPE WC in 2005. In addition to the two student LEAP award winners, one SCE faculty each year is the recipient of the faculty Leadership Excellence Achievement Program (LEAP) award. The UMKC School of Computing and Engineering faculty 2012-2013 LEAP award winner is Ceki Halmen, P.E., Assistant Professor in SCE’s Civil and Mechanical Engineering Department. He was awarded the LEAP Award by the student members of the MSPE/NSPE. The faculty LEAP Award recognizes one SCE faculty per year for “demonstrated mentoring abilities that encourage students to seek leadership excellence in the engineering profession.”

LEAP Award Recipients LEAP Awards Ceremony 2013


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *