Ceki Halmen 2012-2013 Faculty LEAP Award Recipient

4242Congratulations to Ceki Halmen, P.E., Assistant Professor in SCE’s Civil and Mechanical Engineering Department, and winner of the annual faculty Leadership Excellence Achievement Program (LEAP) Award which was established by the Missouri Society of Professional Engineers Western Chapter (MSPE WC) in 2005. The LEAP award recognizes annually the SCE faculty, as determined by MSPE student chapter members via secret ballot, who has “demonstrated mentoring abilities that encourage students to seek leadership excellence in the engineering profession.” Dr. Ceki Halmen was honored at the March 21, 2013 dinner/presentation that our UMKC MSPE student chapter hosted for the MSPE WC. Speaking at the dinner was UMKC SCE’s Dr. Greg King who gave a presentation on the research he is conducting into how falls happen at the UMKC Human Balance and Ambulation Research Laboratory. LEAP award winners were featured on the Missouri Society of Professional Engineers Western Chapter (MSPE WC) webpage and their names will be added to the LEAP Award Recipient plaque housed in Flarsheim Hall. The UMKC MSPE student chapter has benefited greatly from MSPE WC’s mentorship and support and thanks them for their sponsorship of the LEAP award.

4230In addition to the faculty LEAP award, student LEAP awards are earned annually by the two MSPE student chapter students that write the best 300 – 1,000 word essays on engineering ethics. This year the question addressed in the student essays was based this scenario “Is it unethical to develop the evening part-time job unrelated to your full-time engineering position, and why, or how do you resolve this professional obligation issue?” This year’s student winners are Timothy Hines and Sean Rivers.

42444210 4247

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *