Monthly Archives: November 2010

SCE Scholarship Reception Honors Donors and Recipients

Scholarship Reception Table ShotSCE was proud to honor our SCE Scholarship donors and recepients on Friday, Nov. 5, 2010. The SCE Scholarship Reception, held in room 303 Miller Nichols Library congratulated our scholarship recipients and expressed our appreciation for our SCE Scholarship Donors and their support. Many of our donors and their student recipients were in attendance along with parents, guests, SCE faculty and staff, and UMKC administrators including Chancellor Leo Morton.

Scholarship Reception Kingsley

This year SCE is proud to to announce a new endowed scholarship provided by the Burns and McDonnell Foundation,  the Newton A. Campbell Engineering Excellence Scholarship.   Kingsley Kantanka, SCE civil engineering student, is its first recipient.  We thank our donors for all they do for SCE!

Scholarship Reception DeanScholarship Reception Four Group

SCE hosts regional ACM Programming Contest and enters 3 teams

Programming Contest GroupSCE congratulates the members of each of our three UMKC teams that competed in the UMKC hosted regional ACM Conference held at Flarsheim Hall on Saturday, Nov. 6th and SCE teaching professor, Brian Hare, the ACM site director.  Ten teams from 5 schools competed at the UMKC site. UMKC had the largest representation, with three teams.  Team UMKC++ (Kevin Wisniewski, Madhurima Poddar, and Paul R. Smith) placed second at our site, with 5 of 9 problems solved and a total time of 594 minutes. UMKC++ placed 43rd of 138 teams in our region. Team UMKC Class T (Matthew Parish, Dylan EdwardsProgramming Contest Lab, and Kenneth Petr) placed 5th at our site, solving 4 problems in a total of 577 minutes.  Only two teams in the 5-state region solved all 9 problems within the 5-hour time limit. We are very proud of our UMKC SCE student enthusiasm for and involvement in this contest.  Their individual and  team effort helps our School build our reputation for excellence in computing with Kansas City employers and serves as a model to incoming students on how to become involved in meaningful educational and career related activities.   Congratulations again on a job well done!

Prof. Rao wins IBM Faculty Innovation Award, 2010

Prof. Rao’s proposal “Towards Smarter Healthcare: New Healthcare IT Curriculum” has been selected to receive an IBM Faculty Innovation Award in the amount of USD $10,000. This award is given by IBM Academic Initiative and IBM University Relations under the IBM Smarter Planet Industry Skills Innovation Awards 2010 program.