Dean of Students Honor Recipients

UMKC Honors Top Class of 2020 Graduates

Seniors recognized through social and multimedia in lieu of annual commencement events


Photo by Brandon Parigo, Strategic Marketing and Communications

Graduating students who have excelled in both academic achievement and service may be nominated as a Dean of Students Honor Recipient.  This program recognizes the exceptional students who maintain high scholastic performance while actively participating in University and community leadership and service activities outside of the classroom.

The Dean of Students traditionally hosts a breakfast on the last day of the semester to celebrate these students’ accomplishments with their families, friends, nominators, and mentors.  Unfortunately, due to the unprecedented circumstances of the COVID-19 pandemic, the breakfast has been cancelled this semester.

Please join us to virtually meet and celebrate the Spring 2020 Honor Recipients!

“You are an exceptional group of people.  Despite the demands of family, work and studies, you made time to give back to the community.  When you saw a need, you worked to fill it.  You are humanitarians, leaders and philanthropists and you should rightfully be proud of yourselves,” said Interim Dean of Students Chris Brown [watch the video]




Afaq Alabbasi – Pharmacy [watch the video]

  • Nominated by Cameron Lindsey, Maureen Knell, Steven Stoner, and Diana Tamer [watch the video]

Priyesha Bijlani – Medicine [watch the video]

Hannah-Kaye Carter – Biological & Chemical Sciences and Honors College [watch the video]

Austin Dada – Biological & Chemical Sciences [watch the video]

Morgan Dresvyannikov – Medicine [watch the video]

  • Nominated by Brent McCoy, Darla McCarthy, and Beth Rosemergey [watch the video]

Sierra Duncan – Biological & Chemical Sciences and Honors College [watch the video]

Jorden Erskin – Nursing & Health Studies [watch the video]

Elsa George – Medicine [watch the video]

Thomas Haferkamp – Medicine [watch the video]

Chizitam Ibezim – Medicine [watch the video]

Alyssa Jones – Biological & Chemical Sciences and Honors College [watch the video]

Anusha Kodidhi – Medicine [watch the video]

Christopher Kurian – Medicine

Nuvia Lemus-Diaz – Dentistry [watch the video]

  • Nominated by Richie Bigham, Michael Murphy, and Karen Rethmeyer [watch the video]

Rmaah Memon – Medicine [watch the video]

Pooja Menon – Biological & Chemical Sciences [watch the video]

Emily Oliver – Pharmacy [watch the video]

Anthony Oyekan – Medicine [watch the video]

Jayanth Rao – Biological & Chemical Sciences [watch the video]

Nicole Rogers – Medicine [watch the video]

Subhjit Sekhon – Medicine [watch the video]

Mehr-Zahra Shah – Medicine [watch the video]

Saumya Singh – Medicine [watch the video]

Garima Thakkar – Medicine [watch the video]

Sarah Towakoli – College of Arts & Sciences and Honors College [watch the video]

Rachel Zender – Law [watch the video]