We’re Here to Help: Lora Owens


Grants and Contracts Administrator

My Focus:

I support faculty and staff throughout the proposal process from submission to award generation.  I came to ORS as a work study student working in the Sposored Programs office. From there I became an office assistant before being reclassified as a pre-award team member. Throughout my work experience in Sponsored Programs I have been able to develop a better understanding of the research world here on campus and I look forward to the opportunity to support our researchers in their academic pursuits.

Where I Came From:

Originally, a St. Louis native, I have spent the last six years falling in love with the Kansas City area. I made the move to KC to attend UMKC and I have worked in academia since graduating with a BA in Communications. Before my time at UMKC, I received my Associate’s degree at STLCC-Meramec, where I continued my work in the Theater and Music departments. While in St Louis, I spent time as a Costume Manager as well as a Sales Associate for four years. I have now been working at the Office of Research Services for the past five years.

What I love about working in Research Administration:

I started in the Office of Research Services and Sponsored Programs as the work-study back in 2014 and quickly founded a new appreciation for research administration. The work done in this office allows us to make a small yet meaningful contribution to the brilliant faculty here on campus with their research which aims to essentially make the world a better place by improving lives or bringing innovated ideas to light. I am extremely grateful to be a part of the ORS team and to have the chance to work alongside of such a wonderful group of dedicated coworkers.

Some favorite things:

I immediately thought of Sound of Music when seeing this question, so I guess you could say I’m a film enthusiast. Other than watching all types of movies (here’s looking at you, Netflix), I help as a production assistant on local films whenever I can. I love to spend time with my friends and family, along with spending as much time as I can outdoors, either hiking, kayaking, or taking as many landscape photos as humanly possible.