Celebrating Academic Excellence

Photo by Brandon Parigo, Strategic Marketing and Communications

Eleven students recognized at Honors Breakfast

Friday morning was one of celebration and thanks. Eleven students who will graduate on Dec. 16 were honored at the Vice Chancellor Honor Recipients Breakfast.

“You’re an exceptional group of young people,” said Barbara Bichelmeyer, UMKC Interim Chancellor and Provost. “You should be rightfully proud of this recognition.”

Every semester, the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management recognizes graduating students who have excelled in both academic achievement and service to the campus community with the Vice Chancellor’s Honor Recipients program. Students are nominated by faculty or staff during their senior year. This recognition honors the truly unique students who maintain high scholastic performance while actively participating in leadership and service to the community and our University outside of the classroom.

The selection process for being named a Vice Chancellor honoree is very competitive. At the minimum, student needed to have a grade point average of 3.25 or better. They are humanitarians, leaders and philanthropists.

“When you see needs on campus or out in the community, you work diligently to respond,” Bichelmeyer said. “Despite the demands of family, work and studies, you made time for others. You have the gift of selflessness, and that’s a big part of living a fulfilling life. We know you will do great things.”

The Vice Chancellor’s Honor Recipients for December 2017 are:

Caroline Baghdikian, School of Medicine, nominated by Brent McCoy

Chad Feather, Bloch School of Management, nominated by Ben Williams and Katie Garey

Nathan Hay, College of Arts & Sciences, nominated by Jim Murowchick and JJ Lee

Luci McMurray, Bloch School of Management, nominated by Ben Williams

Claire New, School of Law, nominated by Brandon Weiss

Morgan Robertson, College of Arts & Sciences, Honors College, nominated by Gayle Levy

Sia-Awa Saquee, College of Arts & Sciences, nominated by LaNeé Birdewell

Robynn Shines, School of Nursing & Health Studies, nominated by Jamie Hunt

Karla Vega, College of Arts & Sciences, nominated by Theresa Torres

Desiree Walden-Chastain, School of Law, nominated by Barbara Glesner Fines

Brianna Wright, School of Nursing & Health Studies, nominated by Jennifer Lyles-Maqsood

Tags: .
  • Recent UMKC News

    $20 Million Scholarship Article in The Kansas City Star

    KC Scholars partnership also in U.S. News and World Report … Read more

    Geosciences Professor’s Research Cited in New York Times

    Fengpeng Sun co-authored study on California wildfire seasons The 2015 … Read more

    Bloch Faculty Interviewed on NBC Nightly News

    Brent Never teaches about Kansas City’s racial dividing line Never … Read more