Trug und Schein: A Correspondence

25. July 1938

[380725–2–1]

O., on July 25, 1938

Dear Mr. [Nord­hoff]!

No one could have brought me a hap­pier gree­ting this morning than you did with your cathar­tic mes­sa­ge. Becau­se I know that you are out of dan­ger; you can finish healing on your own. How good that you still have 14 days at your dis­po­sal. Use it well! I am now so hap­py and thank­ful.

Oh, if only we had gone tog­e­ther at the same time, perhaps this wouldn’t have hap­pen­ed,“ you wro­te in your last let­ter – and if only it could have been. I would have spa­red no effort to make you well, wit­hout let­ting them noti­ce anything at home. Or would you not think I was capa­ble?

Yes­ter­day, I embroi­de­red well into the evening. I was only able to do one pie­ce. Today, I went out­si­de with a blan­ket right after morning cof­fee. I went pret­ty far, on the way to B., I found a spot in a mea­dow bet­ween the corn fields; bas­ked in the sun — and con­tem­pla­ted. This after­noon you were to have met me in Gos­lar at 12:15. Now perhaps we would have been having our first walk around town. It doesn’t bother me, though, you may belie­ve that. I want for not­hing. I am just so hap­py, sin­ce I know you are out of  dan­ger.

I wal­ked the same path as today in April of this year. What a wret­ched mood I was in. I was at the end of my wits with ever­ything. I still remem­ber how long I stood at the pond — then the snow began to drift.

Ever­ything was so peace­ful and quiet today. The forest seems a dear fri­end to me when I take a look at it. It has obser­ved ever­ything this ent­i­re time; the joy — the suf­fe­ring. When I think about having to lea­ve this place, even if it were only the com­pul­so­ry six mon­ths of Labor Ser­vice. I belie­ve I would have to sum­mon all of my strength to per­se­ve­re.

It would also be some­what dif­fi­cult for you to bid fare­well to ever­ything in B.; even though you are used to moving becau­se of your pro­fes­si­on. It will perhaps not be as rough for you as it would be for your par­ents. After such time, I can’t easi­ly ima­gi­ne an about face. Yet some­thing like that is requi­red from your father. Now you have far­t­her to go from L. By the way, I just remem­be­red that I could not have accep­ted your pre­vious sug­ges­ti­on that I could also take my vaca­ti­on at your landlady’s in L. I for­got that the Grün­der fami­ly has been spen­ding their vaca­ti­on the­re sin­ce the begin­ning of the holi­day. They would have been real­ly puz­zled if they had come across me the­re. And qui­te frank­ly – I would not have a good con­sci­ence in front of them.

It’s fine with me for us to meet in Dres­den on Sunday. But only if you are healt­hy and cheer­ful, do you hear? I alrea­dy read a litt­le bit of my book. Should I bring it? It seems almost like a sto­ry that I read by Theo­dor Storm cal­led „Immen­see,“ but I only vague­ly remem­ber the style.— I will go to the school libra­ry (to pick up Fried­mann Bach) when the holi­day is over, as the­re will be no one the­re now.

Now I am going to get some fresh air and, as long as it is still nice, to have a stre­nuous swim. Most of all, I am loo­king for­ward to going to sleep, from 8 in the evening until 7 in the morning! I wish you well and send you best wis­hes, also from my par­ents,

[Hil­de Lau­be]

Allow me to sha­re the hap­pi­ness with you, I found it out­si­de this morning.

Plea­se fol­low and like us:
25. July 1938

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top

25. Juli 1938

[380725–2‑1]

25.7.38.

O., am 25. Juli 1938.

Lie­ber Herr [Nord­hoff]!

Einen schö­ne­ren Mor­gen­gruß hät­te mir heu­te nie­mand br[in]gen kön­nen als Sie, mit Ihrer erlö­sen­den Nach­richt. Weil ich Sie nur außer Gefahr weiß, das übri­ge holen Sie nun schon noch auf; wie gut, daß Ihnen noch 14 Tage zur Ver­fü­gung ste­hen. Nüt­zen Sie sie recht gut aus! Ich bin jetzt so froh und dank­bar.

Ach wären wir doch gleich zusam­men gefah­ren, viel­leicht wäre es nicht pas­siert,” so schrie­ben Sie im vori­gen Brief — und wenn es so gekom­men wäre. Ich hät­te alles dar­an­ge­setzt, Sie gesund zu bekom­men, ohne denen zu Haus[e] etwas mer­ken zu las­sen [sic]. Oder könn­ten Sie mir sowas nicht zutrau­en?

Ges­tern habe ich bis abends gestickt. Ich hielt es nur bei einer Arbeit aus. Heu­te, gleich nach dem Mor­gen­kaf­fee bin ich mit der Decke hin­aus­ge­gan­gen. Weit drau­ßen, da wo man nach B. geht, habe ich mich auf einer Wie­se zwi­schen den Korn­fel­dern gela­gert; mich gesonnt — und nach­ge­dacht. Mit­tags 1/4 12 hät­ten Sie mich in Gos­lar emp­fan­gen. Jetzt wür­den wir viel­leicht zusam­men den ers­ten Spa­zier­gang durch die Stadt unter­neh­men. Es schmerzt mich aber nicht, wenn ich dar­an den­ke, das dür­fen Sie glau­ben. Ich will nicht[s] für mich. Ich bin ja so glück­lich, seit ich Sie außer Gefahr weiß.

Den­sel­ben Weg wie heu­te ging ich im April die­ses [sic] Jah­res. Wie elend war mir da zu Mute. Ich war so am Ende mit allem. Ich ent­sin­ne mich noch, wie lan­ge ich am Teich stand — dann begann das Schnee­trei­ben.

Heu­te war alles so fried­lich und still. Der Wald, wenn ich ihn so anschaue, erscheint er mir wie ein lie­ber Freund. Alles hat er die gan­ze Zeit mit ange­se­hen; die Freu­de — das Leid. Ich den­ke mit Angst dar­an, wenn ich ein­mal fort müß­te von hier — wäre es nur das Pflicht­halb­jahr des Arbeits­diens­tes. Ich glau­be[,] ich müß­te alle Kraft zusam­men­neh­men[,] um durch­zu­hal­ten.

Ih[ne]n wird es auch etwas schwer­fal­len, allem Lebe­wohl zu sagen in B.; obgleich Sie ja das Zie­hen gewöhnt sind, durch Ihren Beruf. Es wird Ihnen viel­leicht nicht so hart ankom­men, als den Eltern. Nach solch einer Zeit stel­le ich mir eine Wen­dung nicht so ein­fach vor. Doch bei der Stel­lung Ihres Vaters ist ja so etwas Vor­aus­set­zung. Nun haben Sie [sic] noch ein Stück wei­ter von L. aus. Übri­gens da fällt mir ein, Ihren Vor­schlag damals, daß ich [m]eine Feri­en auch in L. bei Ihrer Wir­tin ver­brin­gen könn­te, hät­te ich gar nicht anneh­men kön­nen. Ich ver­gaß, daß ja Fam. Grün­der schon seit Beginn der Feri­en dort weilt. Die hät­ten sich ja schön ver­wun­dert, mich da zu tref­fen. Und offen­ge­stan­den — ich hät­te kein rei­nes Gewis­sen gehabt, ihnen gegen­über.

Ich bin ein­ver­stan­den, wenn wir uns am Sonn­tag in Dres­den tref­fen. Aber nur, wenn Sie völ­lig gesund und mun­ter sind, hören Sie? Ein wenig habe ich schon gele­sen in mei­nem Buch. Soll ich[‘]s mitbringe[n]? Es mutet mir fast so an, wie eine Erzäh­lung von Theo­dor Storm. „Immen­see” habe ich gele­sen, aber an die Aus­drucks­wei­se erin­ne­re ich mich nur noch dun­kel.— In die Schul­bi­blio­thek gehe ich erst, (Frie­de­mann Bach holen) wenn die Feri­en vor­bei sind, jetzt wird nie­mand da sein.

Nun gehe ich noch ein wenig an die Luft und solan­ge es noch schön ist[,] tüch­tig schwim­men. Am meis­ten freue ich mich auf[‘]s Schlafen[ge]hen, von abends 8 bis mor­gens um 7 Uhr!— Ich wün­sche Ihnen wei­ter­hin alles Gute und grü­ße Sie, auch im Namen der Eltern recht herz­lichst,

Ihre [Hil­de Lau­be].

Las­sen Sie mich das Glück mit Ihnen tei­len, ich fand es heu­te mor­gen drau­ßen.

Plea­se fol­low and like us:
error

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.