The Electronic Structure Group (ESG) in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Missouri-Kansas City is led by Curators’ Professor Wai-Yim Ching and Professor Paul Rulis. Other members of the team consist of associate research professor, postdoctoral researchers, and graduate (Ph.D and Master) students. The purpose of the group is to study the fundamental structures and properties of different types of materials (especially those with complex structures) by theoretical and computational means. The ESG has established extensive collaborations with other experimental and theoretical research groups both in US and abroad. Over the year, the ESG has been supported by research grants from DOE-BES, DOE-NETL, NSF, UMKC Research Board and NEDO in Japan.