Entrepreneurship Faculty Member Named Fulbright Specialist


John Norton, Managing Director of the Regnier Institute for  Entrepreneurship and Innovation at UMKC’s Henry W. Bloch School of  Management, has been selected for a Fulbright Specialists project in Indonesia  at Universitas Ciputra commencing March  28, 2013, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William  Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.Universitas Ciputra, located in Surabaya, on the island of  Java, is dedicated to training world-class entrepreneurs, a vision it shares  with the Regnier Institute.  Prof.  Norton will work with Ciputra’s leadership to exchange best practices, build  research and teaching relationships between their respective universities, help  connect UC with other American entrepreneurship scholars, and promote the  discipline and practice of entrepreneurship in Indonesia.Norton is one of more than 400 U.S. faculty and professionals  who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The  Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional  Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to  six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and  faculty development and institutional planning at post-secondary, academic  institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program,America’s flagship international  educational exchange activity, is sponsored by theU.S.Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 60  years of existence, thousands ofU.S.faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and  thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar  activities in theUnited  States.Over 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received  Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government,  Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts  and other fields.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the  basis of academic or professional achievement. Among thousands of prominent  Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist;  Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science  (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, Chairman of  the Board of Intel Corporation. Distinguished Fulbright Specialist participants  include Mahmoud Ayoub,  Professor of Religion at Temple University, Heidi Hartmann, President and CEO,  Institute for Women’s Policy Research, Percy R. Luney, Jr. Dean and Professor,  College of Law, Florida A&M University and Emily Vargas-Barone, Founder and  Executive Director of the RISE Institute.

For further information about the Fulbright Specialists  Program, please contact FULSPEC@cies.iie.org or consult www.cies.org.

The Institute for  Entrepreneurship and Innovation at the UMKC Bloch School inspires and nurtures  future generations of entrepreneurs, and delivers transformational  entrepreneurship education and experiences university-wide.

The Henry W. Bloch School  of Management develops purposeful, entrepreneurial and innovative leaders to  meet changing global demands, and advances knowledge and practice through  excellent teaching, scholarship, outreach and service.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *