UPD Student Jared Islas Awarded Transportation Undergraduate Research Fellowship in Portland, OR

Junior Urban Planning + Design student Jared Islas will spend the summer researching transportation planning at Portland State University in Portland, OR.

UPD junior Jared Islas
UPD junior Jared Islas

Jared was selected among a competitive pool of undergraduate students across the country and the globe to participate in the Transportation Undergraduate Research Fellowship (TURF) sponsored by the National Institute for Transportation and Communities (NITC) at Portland State. NITC is one of five U.S. Department of Transportation national university transportation centers and a program of the Transportation Research and Education Center (TREC) at Portland State.

Jared will spend 10 weeks researching with Nathan McNeil, a Research Associate in the Nohad A. Toulan School of Urban Studies and Planning. Jared will receive a $7,500 stipend for his work this summer.

Bud Prize Winner Announced!

This year’s Bud Prize Competition was held on Saturday, December 10 in Katz Hall. The project was a live-work structure housing a Bookstore for Art & Architecture; designed by second-year architecture students, and advised by Prof. Ted Seligson and Prof. John Eck. The jury for the Competition was: Bill Bruning (AUP+D Advisory Board), Bryan Gross (Helix Architects), Prof. Matt Knox (KSU Dept. of Architecture), Prof. Joy Swallow (AUP+D Chair) and Elizabeth Wilson (Asiatica). The jury was selected to cover all the bases: professional architects and architects in academia, UMKC and KSU (our affiliated program), business and retail. The “full-house” audience was composed of current students, AUP+D alumni, families and friends of students and potential students.

After a long afternoon of student presentations and jury feedback, the jury met privately and spent a difficult 45 minutes narrowing down the prospects. Finally, the jury selected the design submitted by Dominic Musso to be the 2012 Bud Prize winner. Honorable mentions went to Brian Temple, Kevin Perks, Brandon Eversgerd and Andy McAllister.

A special thanks goes out to our jurors (who took the time out of their busy schedules), our hardworking students (who took the time to produce great work), and our visitors (who took the time to support our program). And, as always, the biggest thanks goes out to Helix Architects, for endowing the Bud Prize Competition and being a long-time supporter of the AUP+D.