UMKC BkMk Press Title Wins Indie Book Prize


‘The Glass Labyrinth’ Named 2016 Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards Winner

A short story collection published by BkMk Press at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, “The Glass Labyrinth” by Charlotte Holmes (BkMk Press, 2016), has been named a winner in the 19th annual Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards.

Foreword Reviews, a media company focusing on independently published books, announced the winners of its INDIES Book of the Year Awards during the American Library Association’s Annual Conference in Chicago. The awards recognize the best books published in 2016 from small, indie, and university presses, as well as self-published authors. All of the winners can be viewed at

“Awarding the INDIES is always the highlight of our year, when we get to honor talented authors and great books that are ordinarily overlooked by mainstream publications,” said Howard Lovy, Foreword Reviews’ executive editor.

The Glass Labyrinth” has also been a finalist for the Chautauqua Prize and was the Gold Medalist for the 2017 Independent Publisher Award (IPPY) award for short stories. “The Capital of Kansas City” by Gary Gildner, also published by BkMk Press, was a finalist for the 2017 Indie Book Awards in the humor category.

More than 2,000 entries were submitted in 66 categories, with Foreword’s editors choosing the finalists, and a panel of over 150 librarians and booksellers acting as judges to pick the winners.

Leave A Reply