New Letters Magazine Announces 27th Annual Literary Awards Recipients


[The following was provided by the College of Arts and Sciences, New Letters.]

Winners have been announced for the 27th annual New Letters Literary Awards.

James Capozzi, of Virginia, won first prize in poetry for “Procession of Cervantes’ Hand Over the Bridge at Lepanto,” and other poems.

Amanda Hartzell, of Massachusetts, won first prize in fiction with her short story “What the Water Is.”

James G. Brueggeman, of Wisconsin, won first prize in the essay competition with “Hardware Store.”

First-place winners in each category receive $1,500 and publication in the winter awards issue of New Letters magazine. Runners-up in each category receive a complimentary copy of a recent book from New Letters’ affiliate BkMk Press. All entries receive consideration for publication in a future issue of New Letters. The next literary awards deadline is May 18, 2013. Please visit for further details.

Leave A Reply