Congrats! 2014 Award Recipients

staffawards2014Five staff were recognized for their special contributions to UMKC at the “Celebrating Excellence” awards ceremony on March 11, 2014.

Provost Gail Hackett welcomed honorees, their families and other special guests, saying, “The success of our students and our growing reputation rest on the good names and good works of UMKC’s teachers, researchers and staff members. This is our opportunity to let our talented people know how proud we are.”

The staff awards presented included:

Human Resources Campus Collaboration Staff Award, recognizing sustained contributions and a commitment to promoting and enhancing diversity at UMKC, signaling the university’s commitment to diversity as a core value, as well as an enterprise which benefits the entire campus: Mercedes Tillman, Administrative Associate 1, School of Nursing and Health Studies.

Student Affairs Student Mentor Staff Award, recognizing a UMKC Staff Member who has made significant contributions to higher education through exceptional student mentoring: Kimberly Johnson, Executive Staff Assistant to the Chancellor, Office of the Chancellor.

Chancellor’s Education First Staff Award, recognizing a UMKC staff member who has made significant contributions to higher education through exceptional service, as consistently demonstrated throughout their work performance: Alicen Lundberg, Administrative Assistant, Department of Art and Art History.

Chancellor’s True Unsung Hero Award, recognizing behind-the-scenes staff members who go above and beyond the call of duty to improve the UMKC experience for students, co-workers, faculty and/or constituents: Jean Klosterman, Special Assistant to the Dean, School of Law.

Staff Council Dedication Award, recognizing a UMKC Staff Council member who consistently participates in Staff Council activities above and beyond the call of duty and exceptionally and consistently demonstrates dedication to making UMKC the workplace of choice for all staff: Kevin Sansberry, Senior Human Resources Specialist, Department of Human Resources.

A list of previous recipients of these awards are available here.

Please contact Jennifer Tufts at if you have any questions about Staff Awards or if you are interested in learning more about the Recognition Committee.