Honors for Graduates

Photo Credit: Janet Rogers, Strategic Marketing and Communications.

Kudos for Exceptional Students

Twenty-six members of the University of Missouri-Kansas City Class of 2013 have been cited for special honors as among the university’s most honored graduates.

The students have been named as either Trustee Scholars or Vice Chancellor’s Honor Recipients. As a salute for high academic achievement, community service and leadership, the students, their families and friends, and university officials gathered for a special breakfast Friday morning.

The Vice Chancellor’s Honor Recipients are nominated by faculty or staff during their senior year. The Trustees Scholars go through a rigorous application and interview process while in high school; each selected scholar is sponsored by a member of the UMKC Trustees, a group of Kansas City business and civic leaders who serve as an advisory board to the university. Trustees Scholars receive a full scholarship as well as mentoring experiences.

The Class of 2013 Trustees Scholars are Joshua Boehm, Lydia DeGarmo, Kyle Gruber, Brandon Russell, Kelli Schmidt, Kaitlin Steever, Kate Tankel and Sara Tucker.

The Vice Chancellor’s Honor Recipients for 2013 are Deepti Bankapur, Joshua Boehm, Christine Burleson, Ashley Capps, Melony Chakrabarty, Andrew Dang, Krishna Doddapaneni, Karol Gil-Vasquez, Collin Herman, Ryan Holbrook, Brandon Jackson, Mena Kerolus, Sarah Meiners, James Mitchell, Ashika Odhav, Amy Quinn, Bethany Rippy, Jamison Ryan and Jouilana Sadek.

The UMKC Trustee Scholars Program was the vision of Trustee Hugh Zimmer, to ensure that UMKC could attract the best and brightest students. Zimmer spoke at the breakfast and congratulated the students for their achievements.

The program provides a fully-funded educational and experiential program for a select group of undergraduate freshmen seeking a degree at UMKC. Since the program’s launch in 2002, 92 scholars have been accepted into the program.

The Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management Honor Recipient Program was started in 1975 by Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Richard Hoover. The program was designed to recognize graduating seniors who excelled in both academic achievement and service to the campus, to honor those truly unique students who maintain high scholastic performance while actively participating in University programs and volunteer opportunities outside of the classroom.


Tags: , , , .
  • Recent UMKC News

    Seven Things to do this Weekend

    Don’t miss these top events We are Kansas City’s university, … Read more

    Investing in the Future

    School of Education donors and scholars break bread, pursue dreams … Read more

    Bloch School Entrepreneur of the Year Awards Honor Visionary Leaders

    Regnier Institute for Entrepreneurship and Innovation Announces Honorees for 32nd … Read more