Alumni to be recognized at All-Class Reunion

Six alumni will be honored for their dedication to the law school and the legal profession at the All-Class Reunion and Dean’s Awards Reception on Nov. 2.

2012 Law Foundation and Law Alumni Association Awards








Decade Award – Phyllis Norman-Komoroski
The Decade Award is presented to an alumnus who has made an outstanding contribution to the profession within their first 10 years of practice. Phyllis A. Norman-Komoroski has been recognized both locally and at a national level for her trial work and leadership within the Association for Women Lawyers.








Pat Kelly Service Award – Kirk Presley
The Pat Kelly Service Awards honors the alumnus who has provided exemplary service to the UMKC Law Foundation. Kirk Presley was selected for the Pat Kelly Service Award for his years of service and commitment to the UMKC Law Foundation.








Lifetime Achievement Award – Donald J. Quigg
The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to the alumnus who has achieved outstanding professional success in the legal field throughout a long career. Donald Quigg was selected for his distinguished career in the area of patent law.








Pro Bono Award – Richard W. Miller
The Pro Bono Award is awarded to an alumnus who has made an outstanding contribution to the public welfare through the legal profession.  Richard Miller is the co-founder of Christmas in October, Boys Hope/Girls Hope and the Duchesne Clinic as well as founder of Cristo Rey High School.








Presidents’ Award – Julia D. Kitsmiller
The Presidents’ Award will be presented to Julia Kitsmiller for her leadership and commitment to the Law Alumni Association and Law Foundation. Julia currently serves as the Law Foundation’s Vice President for Marketing and Communications.






Philanthropy Award – Dan Weary, trustee,
Courtney S. Turner Charitable Trust
The Philanthropy Award is given to the individual or family who as enabled the Law Foundation to change student lives. Dan Weary and the Courtney S. Turner Trust were selected for their continued support of the law school including a generous donation for the renovation of the law library and a large classroom.

Honor these award winners while reconnecting with your classmates by making your reservation online.


This entry was posted in Alumni and Friends, Features. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *